Oil-Free Dressing Recipe!

Gooood morning!

Well, construction on the ark has begun.  You see, here in the Pacific Northwest when it starts to rain in November, it pretty much continues on until about February.  Okay, it’s not really that bad, but this weekend we had a lot of rain, particularly on Sunday.  That was my lazy day.  Yes, I admit I laid on the couch for a couple of hours and watched non-stop HGTV.

Weekend wrecks:
Weekends are made for experiments in the kitchen and this weekend was not unlike most.  There were some bombs (Swimming Rama) and there were some successes (carrot ginger dressing).  There was also one that I figured I’d give another go at later on (blue kuri squash soup).  It wasn’t a total fail — I’ll eat what I made — but it isn’t worthy of posting the recipe.  Can you say too much cardamom? Maybe I should throw in some apples and more cinnamon and call it breakfast!  Hey, now there’s an idea.  Hmmmm….

Weekend eats:
I will share with you, though, how salad making is an easy-peasy process and then I’ll give you a TV-inspired salad dressing.  Eating the way we do sure does require a lot of time spent in the kitchen chopping, slicing, dicing, and shredding.  And that’s before anything goes in a pan.  I’m sure I’ve said over and over again to basically measure twice, cut once.  In kitchen-speak, that means cut up the veggies you’ll be using for the week in one shot.  Why peel and shred carrots three times throughout the week when you can do a whole bunch in one two-minute round with the food processor?  I know, it’s a pain to assemble, disassemble & wash, but it’s much faster to do it one time than it is to do it every day with the hand grater.  Here you can see I processed a bunch of carrots, one beet and both green & purple cabbage.

IMG_1695I also pre-wash my greens.  I usually buy two heads of romaine and a couple bunches of kale for the two of us for a week.  Instead of washing and chopping the greens ahead of time, I just rinse well, drip dry in a colander and then lay them out on a towel and roll up, and place in a plastic bag.  The greens keep well that way, staying crisp and tasty for quite a few days.  This is what it looks like:

IMG_1714 IMG_1715

When you’re ready to make your salad, unroll the greens, take out the desired number of leaves, give them a chop, place them in a bowl and add the desired ingredients, plus some chopped tomato, cucumber and beans and you’ve got a meal in just about 3 minutes!  Today’s salad was accompanied with a dressing inspired by a TV show I was watching the other day.  You know those shows where they go into a factory and follow every step that is taken of whatever it is the factory makes?  I love it.  I enjoy learning what goes into our food and how it’s made.  Of course, I don’t eat much processed stuff, but I still find it intriguing watching things cruising down the assembly line.  Anyway, the show happened to be about all things Asian… soy sauce, carrot ginger dressing, Peking duck.  Okay, so I decided to make my own carrot ginger dressing sans the oil, sugar and salt.  The result was pretty good.  As for the Peking duck, I had to turn the channel when it came to that segment.  I couldn’t bear to watch the way the animals were treated.  But I did learn that only the female ducks quack.  The males make more of a grunting sound.  Hmmm…. I’ll hold my comment there.

So you can click on the picture below to be taken to the recipe for Carrot Ginger Salad Dressing.  I hope you enjoy it.

IMG_1718

Wrap Up:
Well, today is the first day of the Dr. Fuhrman Holiday Health Fest.  I’m looking forward to having some motivation and support throughout the holidays to stay on track.  If you want to join in the fun, you can either click the link and join as a member or “like” Dr. Fuhrman’s Facebook page and get access to the same information there.  I know, it appears I’m always promoting Dr. Fuhrman.  I am, I agree.  But I will also tell you I gain nothing from it.  I just like to share his knowledge and hope that others will join me in living a healthy lifestyle free of disease.

I hope you have a healthy, wonderful week.  I will “see” you Friday.

Toodles…

Leave a Reply

