Where are Cinderella’s Glass Slippers?

Well, I haven’t been so excited for the weekend since last Friday. Ha Ha!

I missed Monday’s blog and some people actually noticed.  That makes me feel good, but also puts a little pressure on me.  It’s okay though.  Want to hear why?  You’re never going to believe this story:

So I went to a glamorous ball over the weekend. I was having such a good time and not paying close attention to the clock.  I fled quickly and as I was riding along in my coach — actually, it was zooming along rather rapidly to assure that I was home by curfew — the clock struck twelve and my magical transporter turned into a pumpkin.  As this happened I began to panic.  Then I thought of the age-old saying “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade” and decided to make the best of my situation and literally ate myself into a pumpkin coma.  There were pumpkin smoothies, pumpkin scones, pumpkin lattes, and pumpkin nog similar to this recipe.  It was a crazy week, and I have recently awakened.  (I can’t tell you how much grief that last sentence has just caused me — awakened? awoke?)

See, I told you that you wouldn’t believe it!

Busy Busy:

I love it when you have been sick for a few days and you just wake up and ka-boom you’re ready to go, lots of energy and are feeling great.  That’s what happened after a couple of days off and lots of rest.  I really do think that healthy eating plays a role in recovery time.  I still worked out during the time I was sick and I even ran a 5k last weekend.  It must have helped the last few germs to exit my body because I felt fabulous afterwards and have ever since!  Bam!

11509_10201407827111325_1661220486_n

My friend and me just before heading out in the 5k last weekend. She topped her age group!

Speaking of Running:

I recently discovered the local running store hosts runs on Wednesday evenings and joined the group this week.  It’s nice to show up and have a mapped run all ready for you.  There were about a dozen folks who took off in the setting sun for some exercise.  Some ran at a sprinter’s pace, others took it easy, and yet a few even walked.  I was the only one who ran the three-mile course, so I wasn’t able to glean any sage advice from the seasoned runners.  I guess I’ll have to show up next week to try again.  Since they also map out a 6-mile course, it gives you the opportunity to stretch your ability just a little and step outside of your comfort zone a bit.  Not sure I’m there yet, but eventually I’ll give it a try.  They also provide some healthy snacks and water afterwards, all for free!  Though intrigued by the mooshed almond butter / banana / blueberry concoction in a squeeze bottle, I didn’t try it as the #2 ingredient was sugar.  Water satisfied me until I raced home to a GIANT salad.  It was a different experience for me to run in the evening as I usually keep my exercising to the morning, but it seemed like I had enough energy at the end of what was otherwise a very stressful day.  It actually was a great stress relief.  I see this being helpful in the future.

Weekend Plans:

So what do you have scheduled for your weekend?  The weather here is a little iffy, so it looks like whatever I do will end up occurring indoors.  Maybe roller skating?  No, not really.  It’s just what popped into my head, but it does sound like fun, doesn’t it?  I might have to find an eight-year-old girl to go with so I’d have an excuse to go roller skating, cuz I don’t think old people just show up at the local rink and skate alone, do they?

Anyway, I’m hosting a healthy foods potluck at my house in a week so I’ll be making some preps for that over the weekend including a little decorating, making sure I have tasting cups and spoons available and cleaning.  I always enjoy having people over who have similar eating styles to mine.  It takes the angst out of meal planning, especially when it’s a potluck! No angst involved!  I’m looking forward to sharing experiences, recipes and a fun day with some terrific people.  I will definitely post about that in the future.

I hope you have a great weekend and I’ll see you back here Monday.  Make it a healthy one!  Now, where did I leave my glass slippers?

Toodles…

2 thoughts on “Where are Cinderella’s Glass Slippers?

Leave a Reply

