It’s a pumpkin extravaganza!

Another one bites the dust… workweek, that is.  It’s going to be an emotional weekend for me, I’m afraid.  My son is headed to his first assignment with the Army.  He’s moving to Colorado to do what he’s been trained to do, protect & serve.  I’m so proud of him.  On the other hand I’m a little freaked out nervous for him to be doing all the big-boy stuff on his own.  He’s got to find his way to the base after dropping off Dad at the airport, figure out where to go and what to do.  And ohmygoodness he’s going to be living on his own!  Cooking (hopefully with lots of vegetables), cleaning and all that other stuff.  Okay, I know.  He is 20 years old and has been away from home for months at a time before.  He is all grown up now and can take care of himself.  <enter mommy sob here>  I’m good with it.  I am already starting to think about travel plans!  Woo-hoo!  I love Colorado.  It’s such a beautiful place.  Do you think they have a lot of fresh fruits and veggies there?

Pumpkin galore:

Have you noticed lately all the pumpkin “things”?  Donuts.  Lattes.  Ice Cream.  Cakes.  Coffee beans.  Breads.  Pies.  Muffins.  Cookies.  Pancakes.  The list goes on.  You name it, they make it.  Pumpkin everything.  I wonder how many of those tempting foods actually contain pumpkin.  Have you thought about that?  I used to love to indulge this time of year in a pumpkin spice latte (PSL) at that worldwide coffee place whose cups are decorated in green.  I noticed the other day they’re celebrating the 10th anniversary of the PSL.  Wow!  I think I drank them for nine of those ten years.  I had my last one last year.  (Too much sugar)  Because there are so many pumpkin flavored options out there, I thought to myself, “Self, let’s make a pumpkin spice smoothie.”  Bam! Hello?  So I got busy this week.  This one DOES contain real pumpkin.  I took my pumpkin from a can, but if you’ve got fresh, that would make it even better (or maybe even a sweet potato would work).

1185823_10201287733909070_1710381676_n

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie
Click the pic to go to the recipe

Next, I’m thinking a caramel pumpkin ice “dream” is in order. What do you think? Oh, yessss!

Age is just a number:

I ran into an older gentleman at work the other day whom I hadn’t seen for a number of years.  He mentioned to me he’d been doing his job for 53 years & I complimented him on how great he looked.  He told me he was 82 years old!  I was amazed.  He quoted the great Satchel Paige, saying, “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?”  This man exclaimed he was 51.  I told him I was still 23 (I’m actually twice that).  I celebrated my birthday this week, and I am not ashamed to admit I am now in my late 40s.  Look out, 50!  It’s gonna be one heck of a decade!

Check out the “cake” my co-worker’s wife made for me to celebrate at the office.  I am so grateful that my boss and co-worker support my healthy lifestyle.

Cake 1

Wrap Up:

What are your plans for the weekend?  Saturday morning I’m running in a Color Run.  Have you heard of those?  I’ve never done one, so it should be interesting.  I will post pictures of our tie-dyed look next week.  Enjoy whatever it is that you’ve got planned and I’ll try not to cry too much during the goodbyes.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go stock up on some tissues…

Toodles…

3 thoughts on “It’s a pumpkin extravaganza!

Leave a Reply

