TGIF!

We’ve made it through another week! Phewf.  I don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted.  It was my first week back to work after being off for three whole weeks.  It’s amazing how mentally draining work can be.  I don’t have a physical job (as a matter of fact, I sit ALL day!) but the mental gymnastics that I do wear me out more than the most rigorous workouts I do.

Working Out:
Speaking of working out, this week I started working with my husband’s trainer on a regular basis.  You can read about my trial experience here.  I call my sessions “Fun with Frank,” and it truly is fun.  The workouts are full body and always different.  You use muscles doing things that you wouldn’t normally use in a traditional workout in a gym.  Frank calls this style of workout MixFit.  It’s like CrossFit, but not quite as grueling.  It works well for us old folk.  I think it is important to find a workout style that you enjoy.  It’s a whole lot easier to stick with it.  I like routine, but I can’t stand monotony.  I prefer to run a few days a week, ride the bike, walk & do weight training in addition to my new-found Fun with Frank.

What’s in Store for the Weekend:

What weekend plans do you have?  I’m meeting up with friend and fellow blogger Carrie and her husband this weekend.  They’re in town to see family and I couldn’t ignore them when they’re only about 50 miles away so we’ve got a couple things planned.  I’ll write about the fun things we do on Monday.  Let’s just hope our beautiful weather cooperates.  Or shall we show them what it’s really like in Washington?

Family Member Returns:

So y’all know that our son, Alex, has returned from Basic Training and MP school, right?  You can read about my little excursion to Missouri here if you don’t know what’s going on.  It has been such a joy to hear about his experiences over the past five months and then to hear more about what he’s doing working locally for a couple of weeks.  With him trying to see his friends and spend time with his wonderful girlfriend before he heads out, we haven’t seen much of him, but that’s okay.  I think it’s a conditioning for what is to come.  He will be stationed in Colorado for, most likely, his entire enlistment.  It looks like we’ll be traveling a bit.  Does anybody know of any good nutritarian style restaurants in Colorado Springs?

I’m not sure if you have experienced an empty nest and then a child moving back home.  It’s not easy.  I’m trying very, very hard to not be too motherly.  I’m feeling like I’m failing at the moment.  This “kid” has grown up so much in the last five months.  He doesn’t need me to remind him of simple things.  Amazingly, he’s getting himself up early enough each morning to get in a good workout, a meal AND get to work early.  I’m so proud of him.  It’s nice to see that the Army was able to train him in most of the things I’ve been trying diligently for the last seven or eight years.  Go Army!  I guess they do leave the potty training up to Mom & Dad. 😀

Toodles:

Well, I guess that’s it.  A short post for me on this happy Friday.  It was a busy week with work and then evening activities.  We ate fairly simply.  One evening I did make Carrie’s Cauliflower Indian Stew.  It’s always a good, hearty dish.  Alex liked it so much, he took leftovers to his girlfriend.  If you haven’t tried it, you might give it a go.  You’ll be pleasantly surprised.  I have to say, though, that the coconut milk and lime juice are a must.  Don’t forget to add them in at the very end.  I just thought of something else.  Indian food many times includes raisins.  I think I’ll add some in the next time I make it.  Yummm!

Well, here’s to a happy, healthy weekend.  Enjoy the last days of summer.  It’s not going to last forever!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “TGIF!

  1. Great update, Jan-Marie! My boy is home now, too. 18 and definitely his own man… I know what you mean about trying not to “mother” too much! Haha. Have a fun weekend and please give my best regards to Carrie! I’d love to meet you both some day!! 🙂

    • The things my momma never told me about… and I also now can relate to the difficulties I caused her.
      I would so love to meet you too! And your area looks beautiful. You can trust me when I say that if I ever get to the Great Smokies, I will definitely look you up. A hug on the way to Carrie from you.

Leave a Reply

