Quick Weekend Recap

Hi-dee-ho!  Did you have a fantabulous weekend?

It’s Monday and that means it’s back to work for me.  Oh my goodness!  It’s been three weeks since I’ve put my fingers to the steno machine.  This could be interesting.  Let’s hope I can ease back into it.  I don’t think I’ve ever had this long of a hiatus.  This past week has been a blur for me. One moment I was in Seattle, the next I was in Missouri being reunited with my son who was graduating from Military Police School after 20 weeks of hardcore Basic Combat Training and Advanced Individual Training.  It was amazing.  I love this picture so much, I’m going to post it again, but you can read all about it here.

alex grad w mom

Now that he’s home for a couple of weeks (18 days to be exact), I would really like time to sllllooowwwwww down.  He is so busy zipping around seeing everybody, having coffee with this friend, breakfast with this one and dinner with Grampa.  I’m afraid the day will come that he’ll be ready to head off to his duty station and I will want one more day with him.  But eventually Momma needs to let go and let him fly.  I’m not sure I’ll ever stop being Mom.  It’s something I didn’t understand as a young person… until I had my own child.  I thought he’d grow up and leave the nest and all would be good.  Well, it’s good, for sure, but the worry is still there.  Is he eating right?  Getting enough sleep?  Is he safe?  Is he getting up on time? Does he know that you’re not supposed to wash whites with colors?  Well, I guess all of those things are figured out eventually.  For now, life is good and I think the smile that we’re both sporting in the picture is still on our faces.

Weekend Recap:
I really can’t believe we arrived home on Thursday night and the weekend went by in a flash!  Saturday I spent a few hours in the office trying to dig out from what I knew would be a mess when I returned.  Surprisingly, it wasn’t too bad.  Only 186 emails, about 12 of which were of any import.  Check.  Two voicemails that were actually hangups.  Check.  I did get a little work done, checked over what was coming up for the week and headed out to one of my favorite year-round produce stands.  It’s da bomb!  They have their own local things which right now are cabbage, lettuce (where can you get huge heads of Romaine for 33 cents each?), carrots with tops about two feet long, and celery — oh, and don’t forget fresh corn!  They also have seasonal fruit and veggies that are trucked in so it sort of makes it your one-stop shop.  Except for the nut butters and some other things that I get at the local grocery store, I could really just make the trek down into the valley for my produce.  Maybe I’ll try that next week!

Sunday was fun.  Alex’s girlfriend and her parents invited us out to their beach house.  What a lovely place and the hosts were fantastic.  I knew Alex was making scallops for everyone else and I had a couple of hours to get some things ready, so I quickly made up my cool summer Corn & Avocado Salad.  I think it was a hit, since only a little bit came back home.  Hellllo, lunch!

IMG_1303

I also threw together this Nectarine & Plum Crumble but used all nectarines.  It was delish.  I topped it off with some cashew cream and it was the perfect ending to a perfect day.  The photo below shows it just like the recipe states and has a side of vanilla walnut (n)ice cream with it.

IMG_1423

If you’d like the recipes, you can either just click, or you can find them under the “recipes” tab at the top of the page.

The sunset at the beach house was beautiful.  I kept taking pictures as it progressed.  I don’t think my camera quite captured the beauty of the evening.  Too bad Healthy Handsome Hubby left his camera at home.

IMG_1569 IMG_1571 IMG_1572There you have it, folks, my weekend in a very small nutshell, an acorn perhaps.  From a tiny acorn, a mighty oak tree grows…

Have a great week and I will see you back here on Friday.  I wonder if I can make it through the entire week without longing to wear shorts or, better yet, taking a nap at lunch!

Toodles

Leave a Reply

