Musings for a Monday with Mushrooms

You know, I’m a little goofy.  I like alliterations if you haven’t noticed. Even my blog title is a little nuts-o.  But it fits me. 😀  Happy Monday!  I hope you had a good weekend.

Weekend Summary:

So I’ll get to my mushroom recipe in a minute, but first I’m going to fulfill the title of this post and muse a bit.  As you know, this past week I was on vacation (and it’s continuing this week too).  I stepped outside my box a bit and tried a few new things.  Oh, yes, I did.  Let’s see, some were geared to promoting a healthy life, one… notsomuch.  I started off with attending my husband’s workouts with his trainer.  You can read about how that went here. It was so much fun; I’ve now adopted his trainer as my own.  I am looking forward to a new workout routine.  What else did I do that was a little outside my box?  Well, I ran my first 5k.  That was fun.  I run once in a while around the neighborhood and on the treadmill at the gym, but the little competitor inside me wanted to know if I could do a “race.”  Apparently, that competitor isn’t quite so little.  Yeah, I think I’ve kinda got the fever now.  The run was fairly small as far as the number of participants.  There were only 33 of us.  I wasn’t the fastest in my age group, but I wasn’t the slowest, either. I was happy with the 2nd place ribbon.  Here’s a picture of me before I left the house.

_DSC0223

I got a lot of comments about the tutu and it was great motivation to keep on chuggin’.  It was a great time.  I’ve got ideas for my next run.  Shall I do the local color run?  Or maybe a “Run From the Law” where you’re being chased down by the local police?  Only if they wear all their gear could I possibly be faster.  I’ve seen some of those guys run.

One more thing I did this last week that was way, way, way outside my box was get a tattoo! Those of you who know me personally, know that I’m a very conservative, traditional type of gal. Obviously, I take good care of my body and am cautious about products that I use that may be harmful, whether it’s cleaning products at home, my skin care regimen, and even breathing in second-hand smoke (ick!).  So having a tattoo, some people believe, is completely contrary to my practice!  I guess I would have to agree, but the message of the artwork speaks so clearly about who I am and describes this journey that I am on.  I feel so strongly about this lifestyle I have chosen that I felt it was appropriate. Check it out:

Picture0823131540_1

The picture was taken right after I got home, so it was still pretty inflamed. It’s still a work in progress and I’m looking forward to getting it finished. Can you see the eggplant in there? Won’t that look cool all purple? And the berries in the front? I’m so excited! I do have to say it hurt a little, but after a while you sort of get used to it.

Powered by Plants & Mushrooms too:

Have you ever had crustless pizza?  Sounds pretty good, huh? They are.  It’s another thinking-outside-the-box event!

_DSC0231

The crust is a portabella mushroom and you just put in some pizza sauce, some cashew cheese and then your favorite pizza veggies — I used peppers & olives — and then bake and broil.  You can click on the picture to go directly to the recipe.  They’re so fresh and light.  You get the flavor of a pizza without the heaviness of all that greasy cheese and the thick doughy crust.  Perfect, in my book!  Just add a salad and you’ve got a perfect meal.  A dessert of cantaloupe rounded out a well-balanced meal.

IMG_1513IMG_1516IMG_1521IMG_1522

Weekend Wrap Up:

That’s pretty much it, folks. I guess having time off during the week gives me a little breathing room on the weekends.  I’m looking forward to another week off. I’ve got a few appointments and some downtime too.  Maybe a trip to the local zoo to see the new tiger cubs! They look so cuddly.

Don’t forget… the Healthy Vegan Challenge: Fall Edition starts today. It’s a fun Facebook group.  If you’d like to join our group, click here.  Even if you’re not vegan you can check us out.  There’s lots of great ideas for working towards a healthier lifestyle.

I hope your week is great. Enjoy the last few weeks of summer.  I will see you back here Friday.

2 thoughts on “Musings for a Monday with Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

