Test Kitchen Results You Just Might Like

Hello, Monday! Wow… does the weekend go by oh so quickly for you too?  I think I’m going to petition that we work a two-and-five schedule.  Yeah, that means we flip flop and work two days and have five days off.  I could get used to that.  Or maybe I would end up wishing I had two more days off each week.  Mm-hmm.  That would be okay too.

So what did you do over the weekend?  I hope it was something fun.  My days off were pretty busy.  Saturday the Glaze Family Test Kitchen was open and I made a few things that turned out pretty good.  Curried Hummus — Bam!  An Easy Curry Dish — Bam! Bam!  Chocolate Raspberry Chia Pudding — Triple Bam!  Almond Blueberry Trail Bars — kerplunk!  It seemed that curry was the flavor of the day.  The day started off innocently enough with making some hummus.  I use the delectable spread for everything from dipping veggies and <gasp!> pita bread to salad dressing base to a spread for veggie wraps.  While I was waiting for the food processor to do it’s thing with my usual, generic hummus, I thought, “Hmmmm… I wonder what it would taste like if I used curry powder instead of cumin?” Ta-da!  Enter a new flavor sensation.  You can find the recipe to a basic oil-free hummus over in the snack section of my recipes.  Instead of the cumin, use whatever spices you’d like.  Chipotle chili powder is good.  Just start with a smaller amount of spice and make sure to taste it as you go, adding more to suit your palate.

Curry Curry:

Are you ready for the curry recipe?  Yumm-oh is what I say.  I hope you will too.  You can just click on the picture to be taken to the recipe page. H³ doesn’t really like curry, so I made this all for myself.  It made a fairly huge pot, so I’ll probably end up freezing some of it for lunches.  I had it once served as pictured, once over lightly steamed kale, or you can add a little side of brown rice.  Enjoy!

1005899_10201002671262682_1203695243_nHandsome Healthy Hubby and I spent Sunday hiking in memory of his Dad.  It’s a little thing we started last year on his birthday just five months after his death.  You can read my tribute to him here.  I’ll share with you a few pictures that both Daddy Long Legs (aka H³) and I took.  He’s got much better photography skilz than I do, so bear with me.  It was a great day up at Mt. Rainier for a hike.  11-ish miles in just under five hours, not too bad, when you consider most of it was up, up, up and at a relatively high elevation!

15662_638143506195966_1050759590_n 1102664_638146516195665_946925291_o 1097240_638145382862445_1572046367_o 19906_638143892862594_787749549_nIMG_1468

A little explanation for the one with me holding the thing that looks like a blue head:  We have named that “The Noggin,” and our son had used that thing I will call garden statuary in a bunch of photos that he took and used for album art when he recorded a CD.  When he headed off to Army Basic Training we decided to take The Noggin with us to different locations and take his picture and then send the photos to Alex.  You never know where he might appear or what he might be doing.  The Noggin even celebrated Alex’s birthday in style, complete with party hat & noise makers!  Do you think he’d make it past TSA for a trip to Army graduation?

Sometimes it is difficult to keep up with the speedster when we go hiking.  It’s one of the downsides of being short elfin.  Eventually, the man has got to stop to take a picture or two!  I catch up then and we continue on.  It’s always a good time.  Now, if I could just perfect a good trail bar that won’t crumble to bits in our packs.  I still have a couple of months to work on that one before hiking season is over.  For now, I’ll stick to nuts and dried fruit.  Trail food is different now that we are Nutritarians.  No more beef jerky or cheese & crackers.  I’m hoping to get in a couple-day backpack trip in August and try my hand at some homemade plant-based, dehydrated meals.  Of course, if they’re failures when we are out in the wilderness we might have a problem.  I’m not too good at foraging.  I’d best come up with a testing plan, eh?!

Weekend Wrap Up:

Oh, we got some good news this weekend too.  When Alex called he told us that he was accepted as a “Hometown Recruiter” and will be spending 18 days at home before heading off to his new duty station.  That is such good news for us.  Originally, the plan was to have him home for just four days, so we are definitely doing the happy dance.  I just wonder what it will be like to have him home for so long when we’ve been empty nesters for five months and he hasn’t had his ‘rents around to tell him what to do.  I will really have to focus on not being too motherly, I guess.

All in all it was an awesome weekend!  Well, with that, I’ll sign off.  I will “see” you on Friday with a new Fun Fact! Have a great week and remember… make it healthy!

4 thoughts on “Test Kitchen Results You Just Might Like

    • Thanks, Nikki! I love curry too. I sure live in a beautiful place, huh?! We’re a little spoiled here in the NW.

Leave a Reply

