Friday Fun Fact #10

Howdy!  I’m so glad you could join me on this beautiful Friday.  I’ve got a fun fact for you today, ya know!  Why?  Cuz it’s Friday!  But I’ll get to that in a minute.  First, I want to share with you a frozen dessert that is oh, so yummy you won’t want to miss it!

Life is Uncertain; Eat Dessert First:

Well, not really, but today we’ll read about the dessert first.  You know, I don’t remember eating dessert a lot growing up nor do I remember eating dessert nearly every day before I became a Nutritarian.  Oh, sure, there was the after lunch trip to the vending machine, but I hardly considered that dessert.  That was more like part of my meal!  At home I guess we did usually have a carton of ice cream or cookies or something around for a “bedtime” snack.  And the more I think about it, I guess I do have a memory of having a snack before I went to bed when I was a kid.  Now that I’m a Nutritarian, I’m constantly thinking of new things to try, new recipes to test out on H³ (Handsome Healthy Hubby) and have him rate for me.  For some reason, I gravitate towards the desserts for the Glaze Family Test Kitchen.  (As is evidenced by the number of desserts under the recipe tab).  I’m not sure why it works that way, but it does.  Maybe because they’re less likely to be flops.  I mean, you can hardly go wrong with most ingredients that go into a dessert, right?  You’ve got some sort of a plant-based sweetener, a fruit and sometimes a grain if it’s a baked goodie.

Back to my childhood… I remember Sunday nights after my bath, I would plunk down on the floor in front of the television eager to find out what Laura & Mary Ingalls were up to this week.  My mom would, like clockwork, bring me a nice-sized bowl of vanilla ice cream with Hershey’s syrup on top.  Yeah!  That’s what I’m talking about!  So perhaps this could explain my fascination with frozen treats.  I have really fallen in love with frozen banana desserts.  I have a great one that I came up with myself called Grinning Gorilla.  It’s the perfect combination of banana, chocolate and peanut butter!  I do like to try previously tested recipes that other people post on their blogs and if I like them, pass them on here.  So this week, the frozen concoction is made with cherries.  H³ doesn’t prefer the varieties with bananas, so I’m always looking for something to satisfy his after-dinner sweet tooth.  I think this one fit the bill quite nicely.  Click on the photo to be taken to the recipe.  I don’t think you’ll be disappointed by this one.

IMG_1414

I used to enjoy going out for frozen yogurt once in a while.  But, you know, I think I really prefer making my own now at home.  Sure, I don’t have the buffet of toppings to add, but I think that’s really the only reason I liked to get fro-yo anyway!

Friday Fun Fact:

After spending a week at the Fuhrman Health Getaway a couple of weeks ago, I decided a few of the things I would work on at home were no chocolate, no sugar and eating only when I’m hungry; that is, eating when I have true hunger and not toxic hunger.  I’ve done pretty well with the no chocolate and no sugar.  I have added chocolate back in, but only in its raw, unsweetened state.  For example, I’m not going to sit down to a chocolate bar or something similar.  I have added it to my green smoothies and to my frozen desserts.  So far, it doesn’t seem that it has caused a problem.  I have had NO added sugar since the 26th of June and I must say it is pretty amazing to have less sweet cravings than I had before.

Let’s talk about “toxic hunger.”  When you eat, your body goes into the anabolic state.  There’s lots of chemical changes that go on in your body involving glucose and other things that I won’t go into when you eat and digestion ensues.  Then when the catabolic stage begins after a meal and the digestion phase, that’s when we experience things like a grumbly stomach, headaches, shakiness, inability to concentrate and moodiness.  Some people (including many scientific textbooks) would believe that these are signs of hunger.  And that’s because these uncomfortable symptoms are usually alleviated when food is consumed.  The feelings experienced during this phase are actually your body detoxing from the processed foods that the Standard American Diets is chock full of.  Our bodies are wanting more of those “toxic” foods.  Thus, Dr. Fuhrman calls this “toxic hunger.”  For those of us who eat a fairly strict plant-based diet consisting of whole foods that are high in nutrients, we don’t experience toxic hunger as often.  What I experience when I’m truly hungry is an empty sensation in the back of my throat, increased salivation and a heightened sense of taste.  I have experienced it many times in the past couple of months as I’m really trying to focus on eating when only I feel true hunger.  Unfortunately, I have a job where I have to eat when the opportunity arises as I can’t just stop in the middle of a witness’ testimony and munch down a salad!  My work schedule pretty much dictates when I eat, and I have to admit, the thought of getting half way through the afternoon and being overly hungry because I skipped lunch scares the daylights out of me!  Because of this, I pretty much eat breakfast, lunch and dinner with no snacking (except those darned frozen desserts!).  Eating high-nutrtient foods causes your body to lose the addictive drive to overeat.

My challenge for you:

I challenge you, if you’re eating a plant-based diet, to give it a try.  Eat only when you’re truly hungry and see how good your meal tastes.  It’s amazing!  If you aren’t eating a plant-based diet and would like to transition, might I suggest that you replace just three meals a week with a huge green salad topped with a cup of no-salt beans and an oil-free salad dressing — lemon is great squeezed over the top of your salad, or a drizzle of vinegar, or you might even try mixing some almond or peanut butter with some crushed garlic, vinegar and a little tomato sauce.  You might be surprised at how much it tastes like a Russian dressing!  When I say a huge salad, I mean HUGE… like half a head of romaine lettuce and other veggies.  I think you’ll see how easy and fun this diet-style can be!  Good luck 😀  (Warning: Please make sure you check with your doctor if you are taking any type of medication that may be affected by your diet)

Wrap Up:

Okay.  I’ll wrap up.  So what’s in store for the weekend?  Looks like I’ve got some housework on the agenda and maybe a bike ride one afternoon.  I haven’t had the bike out yet this year, so I’ll see how much of a tune-up it needs before I hit the road!  If I can’t get out for some fun in the sun, maybe I’ll just relax on the deck.  Ya know, the sun is a good source of Vitamin D!  (only mid-morning sun, though, and only for about 20 minutes… the rest of the time, slather up with sunscreen).

Hope to see you back here on Monday when I’ll report on anything that goes on in the Glaze Family Test Kitchen.  I see a Thai salad in the works…

2 thoughts on “Friday Fun Fact #10

  1. Pingback: Breakfast talk & Pizza too! | My Midlife Mumblings

  2. Pingback: Friday Fun Fact #13 | My Midlife Mumblings

Leave a Reply

