Monday Midlife Mumbling

Goooood Morning, Healthy Eaters!

I hope you had a good weekend.  Mine was sort of mixed.  I spent some time test driving cars on Saturday.  Now, that’s not a really fun thing for me to do.  Some people might enjoy it, but I find nothing about it really very fun.  Maybe I would dig it a bit more if the salesman didn’t go with you on the drive.  I think I might have scared him a bit when I was testing the performance of the car on the freeway. tee hee 😀  I do have to say that I’ll be saving us 25 thousand green ones and spending far less than that to get my seven-year-old Subaru fixed.  I mean, it’s only got 85,000 miles on it and has at least 100k more in it, right?!  So, the frugal, practical Jan prevailed.  I’ll be making a phone call to my new best friend (the salesman) and telling him thanks, but no thanks.  I realized my desire to get a newer car was probably just me having a midlife crisis and my need for something to change.

That’s why I started this blog two years ago… I felt like I was having a midlife crisis and so I began mumbling about it here.  Over time, the blog has morphed and is now primarily mumbling about food.  Thanks for joining me if you’re new and thank you to those who have stuck it out with me and continued to read.

So what could I possible change?  Hmmm… maybe my hair color would be easier — at least cheaper than a car and less risky than a new job.  I love my Handsome Healthy Hubby so I’m keeping him (I’m sure he’ll read that as a relief).  I love where I live (I’ll share about that in a bit) so I’m really not into moving.  I’ll have to ponder this idea.  Maybe it will just be nothing except my attitude!  I do know that I miss my little boy… okay, he’s not a little boy anymore.  He’s a grown man!  He called Sunday and it was great to hear his voice, like it is every time he calls.  I was super extra excited to hear he has been counting down the days until his graduation and he informed me it’s only 51 days until he gets to see us.  I think he’s actually counting down how long until he gets to see his sweetheart, but since we’re all going together, he gets us as a package deal.  51 days is doable.

What did I do on Sunday?  Well, besides talk to Alex, we hiked.  Oh, yesssss!  It was sort of a spur-of-the-moment hike and so that was fun.  I love to be outdoors and H³ knows that, so as I’m thinking about what to make for breakfast he says to me, “You wanna go hiking today?” Let me think about th — YES!  And in 20 minutes we were out the door and heading to one of my new favorite places to hike near Mt. Rainier.  You’ll see why when you scroll down and see the beauty of this majestic place.

blog collage

clockwise from top left: Mt. Rainier, glacier lily, Eunice Lake, wildflower
photos courtesy of Doug Glaze

Now do you know why I don’t want to move?  Within 90 minutes you can be hiking in the mountains; in two hours you’re at the ocean.  We live in God’s country, we do!

Since my last post, I haven’t really spent too much time experimenting in the kitchen.  I’ve been relying on old standbys since I’m back to work after my vacation.  So we’re doing the usual circuit of TexMex, salads, stirfry, salads, Buddha bowls, salads and more TexMex… and there’s always more salads!  We did grill up some portobella mushrooms to go with some fresh corn on the cob and a salad for Sunday night’s dinner.  That was pretty tasty!  I haven’t had corn on the cob in ages.  Who knew it would taste so good not dripping in butter!  I sprinkled a little bit of Mrs. Dash & nutritional yeast on it and it was fabulous!

Wrap Up:

Well, that sort of sums up my weekend.  Have you joined the Healthy Vegan Challenge over on Facebook?  It’s not too late.  You don’t have to be a vegan eater to join?  If you’re new to plant-based diets or just trying to eat healthier, join us.  It’s a closed group so you’ve got to ask to join and Carrie from Carrie on Vegan will accept your request and you’ll be in!  We share lots of recipes and other ideas too.

Remember, I’ve changed my blogging schedule, so I’ll be back here on Friday.  I hope you’ll come back and see what is new in the zoo!  Have a fabulous week. 😀

2 thoughts on “Monday Midlife Mumbling

  1. Good that you are keeping your Subaru! I love those cars. May get one someday. Great pics! Yes, most definitely God’s country there. Enjoy your week! 🙂

    • Hi, Helyn! Thanks for your comment. Yep, decided that an upgrade to a newer Subaru wasn’t really necessary. In this neck of the woods the AWD is a bonus. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

