How does your garden grow?

Here it is Wednesday already! Wow, how time flies.  I might just want to slow down a bit and enjoy the summer while it is still here.  The cool thing is that in this neck of the woods, we have great weather even into the middle of October, so we’ve got plenty of time to soak up the sun and enjoy our time outdoors.  I am looking forward to many more weekends of hiking.  I just love being in the wilderness!

IMG_1420One benefit of living in the Pacific Northwest is that it’s not usually scorching hot and we can grow greens pretty much all summer long.  Here’s a little picture of my harvest from earlier in the week.  I learned that with leaf lettuce instead of cutting it off all the way at the bottom and getting a head of lettuce like you’d get at a store, if you just trim it up about an inch from the dirt and take the individual leaves, it will restart and regrow giving you an ever-abundance of greens!  Last night I looked at it appears that tonight will be another harvest.  The kale is looking good too!

I talked in a prior post about the importance of having food prepared and on hand in the fridge for those times that I’m ravishing and can’t wait for the next meal, so tonight I will make up a large batch of my Protein Power Salad.  I will serve it over some of those delectable fresh greens and then use it up over the next few days.  You know, those nights when you have errands to run after work and have meetings in the evening and you don’t have 30 minutes to spare in the kitchen?  That’s what having pre-made meals are perfect for.  That’s when the soups in the freezer come in handy.  The extra beans that I cooked over the weekend and stashed away are perfect tossed with some greens and sliced tomato and cucumber!  It’s all about keeping it simple for me.

IMG_1202

Protein Power Salad

Change is a-coming:

You know, I love to blog & share my thoughts, my stories & my struggles.  Sometimes, though, it’s tough to come up with something that I feel is interesting and important enough that anybody would really care.   (You probably don’t give a hoot that I ran almost four miles today and that tomorrow is a walking day or that I ate toast <gasp!> for breakfast.)  So this morning I was thinking how I could relieve myself of the self-imposed pressure that I sometimes feel to come up with something witty to say.  I think I came up with a brilliant solution.  Starting next week, you can catch me on Mondays and Fridays right here.  That will allow a few more days between posts and more interesting subject matter.  Now, wouldn’t you say that is a great idea?!

Wrap Up:

I hope you all have a great rest of your week, always trying to make it as healthy as possible, and I will see you back on Friday with a fun fact!  Toodles 🙂

Leave a Reply

