Muffins and Mumblings

Hello there!  Happy Hump Day.  Today’s post is going to be quick and simple.  I’ve got a muffin recipe for you and I’ll get to that in a minute.  I’m finally feeling back to my old self after my little icky-ness from last week.  I’m hoping to never relive that experience again!  So now I’m moving on, eating the best that I have in a while and keeping in the back of my mind that perhaps my straying off and joining my good friend Sugar for a couple-of-week escapade was the reason for my illness.  I’m not sure that’s a fact, but if I have that idea, maybe it will keep me more on track.  So far I’ve been 100% Nutritarian and feel awesome!  It takes a bit to get things back to normal and as normal as I can be, I think I’m there.

Unnecessary Antibiotics:

During my visit to Urgent Care last week, the doctor gave me a prescription for Cipro which is one of the strongest antibiotics you can take.  It was urged that I take it “just in case” I have an infection somewhere.  I am thankful that I declined to have it filled.  There was no infection found.  As a matter of fact, the one thing that they did note was a high level of lactobacillus, which is a probiotic.  Maybe that’s because I take probiotics to keep a healthy gut.  (apparently it failed me for a day or two!)  Unnecessary use of antibiotics is thought by some scientists to be leading to our country’s high occurrence of deadly illnesses.  I just saw a blurb on the news this morning that if doctors and patients can limit the use of unneeded medications, we could save over $213 billion in our country’s healthcare plan.  I will have to do more reading into that to see exactly what is meant, but that’s a lot of money.

Blueberry Muffins galore:

You know, I’m not a creative foodie.  I steal borrow a lot of recipes from other people and then tweak them as my own.  When I do replicate a recipe, I try to remember to give that person credit.  That’s what I’m doing here.  I subscribe to Helyn Dunn’s blog, Helyn’s Healthy Kitchen.  She is a great writer and has a keen sense of good, healthy food.  She’s also a nutritarian and I think you’ll find her recipes to be very good.  I enjoy a baked item once in a while and since I’ve been eating healthy, that’s one of the things I miss the most.  Blueberry muffins are Healthy Hubby’s favorite, so when I found Helyn’s recipe, I was so excited.  I used her recipe here to go off of, but made my own adjustments for the ingredients I had at home.  Helyn’s recipe calls for oat flour, brown rice flour, tapioca flour, etc.  I had a gluten-free baking mix on hand so that’s what I used.  I don’t think it changed much of the texture, the moistness or the flavor.  So you can click on the picture for my recipe or for the real one, linked and referenced with Helyn’s permission, just click here.  I should note that these muffins are gluten free and vegan (and tasty!).

IMG_1274I also made a bowl of vegan cream cheese to top them with, just as Helyn suggested and although you have to plan ahead for the vegan cream cheese (like almost 2 days), it is totally worth it!

I’ve also created a banana muffin recipe that I’ve got to tweak just a little bit before I post the recipe, but until then, indulge in the blueberry ones.  Don’t forget the napkin!

Conclusion:

So there you have it!  Check back on Friday for a Fun Fact.  That’s where I share some little tidbit of useful knowledge from the nutrition world.  Shoot… sometimes I even learn something myself!

4 thoughts on “Muffins and Mumblings

  1. I’m so happy that you are enjoying the muffins, Jan-Marie!!! And you made the cream cheese! Goody for you! Happy to be part of your recipe borrowing world :))

    • I am so grateful for you & your blog. Your nutritional knowledge is amazing! Thank you. 🙂 The cream cheese is oh, so yummy. I just hope I can eat it before it needs to be tossed!

      • Thanks so much! My cream cheese lasts a LONG time. It does seem to get more tart, though, the older it gets, even in the fridge! I have found that soaking the cashews overnight and then rinsing and putting them in the fridge for a day before making the cream cheese makes it extra good 🙂 It turns out like whipped cream cheese! I should make a not of that on the recipe…

  2. Pingback: Friday Fun Fact #8 | My Midlife Mumblings

Leave a Reply

