Hump Day with a Thai Flair

Happy Hump Day!  We are enjoying some beautiful weather here in the Pacific Northwest.  I don’t think you can have anything but a sunny disposition when we are in the 70s and the skies are blue!

Today’s post is a short one.  I’m dealing with a little bit of stress from work which wears me out and makes me incredibly tired in the evenings so I can’t “pre-post” and quite frankly, I have little energy to make much more for dinner than a basic salad.  You’ll forgive me, right, for the next couple of weeks?

Wrap it Up:

One of my favorite things to eat when I go out for Thai food (which, coincidentally is now my favorite eat-out food) is a spring roll… or four!  When the Healthy Hubby and I were away at Lake Chelan a couple of weeks ago, I was in a specialty market and picked up some spring roll wrappers.  You can also get them at Asian markets.  I was able to make my own spring rolls which were pretty good.   Take a look-see:

IMG_1224

Spring roll wrappers are just rice and tapioca starch.  Probably not the greatest thing in the world for you, but we all have to stray a little bit once in a while, right?  The things come out of the package looking like a piece of plastic, but you soak them individually for about 15 seconds each and fill them with your favorite foods and roll up.  I wrapped up mung bean sprouts, carrots, cabbage and cucumber that was tossed with a little bit of Bragg’s Aminos, lime juice, mint and basil.

One thing we learned was you really need to stuff them full to get the restaurant quality.  The wrap is forgiving, and you can stretch it a little bit.  Next time I’ll put more ingredients in each one.  Making your own means you can add your own ingredients.  Next time I’ll add some baked/browned tofu, I think.  I made a quick dipping sauce of  Bragg’s Aminos, vinegar, garlic, ginger and cornstarch.  Heat it up until it’s thick and then cool for dipping.

Looking forward:

In just three short weeks from today, I’ll be heading off to San Diego for the Dr. Fuhrman getaway.  I can’t believe it’s almost here.  I can’t wait to go somewhere so sunny and beautiful; and to be in the presence of many people who have similar nutritional goals will be amazing.  I’m hoping to meet some new friends, learn something new, and maybe come back with more recipes to try and share with you.  For now, I’ve got to make it through the next two weeks worth of work and maintain some sort of sanity in the process.  Please be patient as my posts may not be up first thing in the morning.

To get updates, just click “follow” at the top of my blog and you’ll get an email when I’ve made an update.  That’s pretty easy, right?!  Well, enjoy the rest of your week and come back on Friday.  I’ll share with you a new micro salad I tried today.  Let me just say, it’s pretty darned good.

ttfn ~

Leave a Reply

