Eat your Peas!

Wow! We’re back to Monday again.  I hope you had a fantastic weekend and, if you are a mother, had a little downtime to relax.  Everybody is a mother to some extent, right?  Whether to your own children, adopted ones, neighborhood kids, or the furry type.  They all take work, don’t they?  And I think we’re entitled to a little time off once in a while.  Mother’s Day is one of those days when I don’t feel guilty taking the day off.  And I sure did!

Weekend in Review:

Saturday morning Healthy Hubby and I found a new restaurant nearby.  The Moon Rise Cafe serves traditional breakfast and lunch fare and even has some vegetarian and vegan options.  I was ecstatic to find a tofu scramble on the menu.  They season their tofu with a variety of things including turmeric to give it the yellow that scrambled eggs have.  The flavor was amazing and it seemed as if I were eating eggs and vegetables.  It was such a treat from the usual oatmeal that I get if we go out for breakfast.  I will share more about my attempt to re-create the scrambled tofu.

The forecast was for good weather so we headed out for a 90-minute drive south to the Hulda Klager Lilac Gardens.  We were hitting the last weekend of Lilac Days and weren’t sure what we’d find.  After all, our lilacs at home just started blooming.  Two weeks earlier would have been the prime viewing and smelling season, but we were not disappointed with what we did find.  Ahhh, the sweet smell of lilacs!  What beautiful gardens they have continued to maintain after the original “Lilac Lady” died in 1960.  It’s a historical landmark that hopefully will remain for years to come.  We plan to go back next year for more variety.  We did come home with two dwarf bushes that will go nicely in a couple of pots on the deck.  They are so fragrant.  Here’s a couple of pictures that Healthy Hubby took.  His photography skills blow me away sometimes!

bee lilac.

It was such a lovely day.

Sunday started off a little sad.  It’s my 11th Mother’s Day with no mother to celebrate with.  But, you know, it’s a fact of life and we must not dwell, so off we go on our “coffee” date.  Sometimes it’s a tea date, sometimes coffee.  The day was sort of lazy, like it should be.  I attempted to re-make the “tofeggs” and it wasn’t a complete fail.  I added them to Dr. Fuhrman’s recipe of California Creamed Kale.   Below is a picture of just the creamed kale (no rice) which by itself is wonderful.  When I added the “tofeggs” I left off the cream sauce and added salsa and avocado for a hearty breakfast.  Not bad.  I didn’t think to take a picture of it.  (I was a little hungry)

IMG_1200

Since it was a lazy day for me on Sunday I took a lonnnnng nap.  Oh, boy!  Did that ever feel good.  I was completely rested, rejuvenated and prepped for the upcoming week.  But that was not the end of my day.  The highlight of the entire weekend came when Alex called to wish me a Happy Mother’s Day.  It was so good to hear his voice and know that he is doing well.  I could have talked to him forever, but I knew he only had 30 minutes to talk; and, realizing he wanted to talk to his girlfriend too, we cut it short so he’d have equal time with her.  It was a very special 15 minutes that I will treasure until the next time he can call.  My weekend was complete!  I even got a little emotional after the call.

Call it a wrap!

Well, I’m gonna call it a wrap with this one recipe, but I will have another on Wednesday that you won’t want to miss.  Come back here and check out a coooool summer salad packed with lots of protein!

One thought on “Eat your Peas!

  1. Pingback: Mumbles for Monday & a Book Review | My Midlife Mumblings

Leave a Reply

