Happy Earth Day

Happy Earth Day, all!

earth

I think the Earth looks so cool from outer space.  Only thing is, there should be no clouds over my world this week.  The weatherman is forecasting sun & warm weather this week.  We shall not be fooled, however, as summer doesn’t begin in the Pacific Northwest until July 5th.

Are you doing anything to celebrate Earth Day?  I had a funny thought this morning.  Here I am 99% vegan, eating a plant-based diet and I’m thinking about how we need to protect the Earth.  We can’t possibly deplete the Earth of all of its green.  So I say, “Save the Earth: Eat a cow.”  Of course, I’m kidding.  I know how much of a strain it is on our world to grow the feed, raise and slaughter the cow, process the meat and start the process all over again, let alone what the consumption of animal products does to our body.  My comment is made in jest, so please don’t get all excited about my hypocritical thoughts.  I will keep on eating a diet very heavy in the fruit and veggie department, knowing that my diet is much more sustainable and good for me!  I feel like every day that I eat this way is a celebration of the Earth.  We’ve only got one & I think we should take good care of it.

Today I have a recipe for you that I think will make you feel good about yourself; about having dessert.  Check it out.  I love something a little sweet after my meals and sometimes just plain ol’ fruit doesn’t cut it for me.

_DSC9641

Apparently, I’m on an apple kick, what with my post last week with the Apple Oat Breakfast that I shared.  Apples are so good for you.  At just about 65 calories each, they provide much-needed Vitamin C, lots of fiber and contain Omega-6 fatty acids.  Because they have so much fiber, you feel full longer.  Try out this very tasty dessert & I think you’ll agree this apple crumble is easier to prepare than a pie or a crisp.  Because this is “raw,” you might want to let it sit on the counter for a bit to reach room temperature before serving.  You can top it with a dollop of cashew or macadamia nut cream if you prefer.  We ate ours “as-is.”  Enjoy!

I hope you had a good weekend, are rested for your week — and, if you live in the Northwest, you are getting excited about our sunny weather that’s on the way.  I know I sure am.  I’m starting to get spring fever and beginning to think about the veggie pots I’ll be planting soon.  It’s about time for salad greens and cooler vegetables like spinach and, my fave, KALE!  I might try growing some this year.  I can’t wait!

Check back here on Wednesday.  I’ll share with you a couple of things that I do to lighten my carbon footprint!

2 thoughts on “Happy Earth Day

Leave a Reply

