Spring is Here?

It’s a super-de-duper day!  The sun is shining here in the Northwest.  I love this time of year as the flowers bloom and the trees bud.  Such a wonderful time of new life.  It’s the perfect time of year to create a new life of fitness and health, too, if you’re trying to jump start a new routine.  Though the calendar says spring and so do the flowers, it’s been a bit chilly in the morning… like 34 degrees!  The afternoons have been nice and sunny, so I’m a happy camper.

Speaking of fitness and health, this week I upped my HIIT, or High Intensity Interval Training, a little bit by having shorter rest/walk periods and oh, boy, do I feel it.  It’s a good thing, though.  Today when I was working out I decided that if Alex can run with a rucksack on his back or crawl under barbed wire through the mud, I can work out in the comfort of a climate-controlled gym!  I’m committed to the best exercise routine I can do for the next five months & we’ll see who is in better shape.  I actually already know who is going to win that contest, but it gives me a goal.

A Gift Arrived:

Yesterday a box arrived for Doug & me.  Alex was planning before he left.  He sent us our Mother’s Day & Father’s Day gifts.   Along with the box came a phone call to open the box (just a wee bit early).  Inside was a wonderful travel mug for each of us.  Now I have a cup in which I can enjoy my twice-weekly latte and my Teeccino.  Check it out!

Picture0417130833_1

White Bean Hummus Recipe:

I have a recipe for you today, but it’s not a soup.  Instead, I’ll share with you a new hummus recipe that I’ve been enjoying.  I like store-bought hummus best more because I can’t seem to replicate a good oil-free one at home that is the right consistency.  So sometimes instead of trying to get the exact thing through substitutions it’s better to go totally different.  Kind of like I told someone who wanted to know how to make a pecan pie healthy for the holidays.  Can’t do it, I say.  Make something different that has pecans in it rather than substituting something for the ooey-gooey pecan filling.  So here’s a white bean hummus recipe for you.  I hope you like it as much as I do.

Well, it’s a short post today as there’s not too much going on.  I will “see” you Friday with a new breakfast recipe idea!

2 thoughts on “Spring is Here?

Leave a Reply

