As promised… a tasty soup!

lifestyle

Happy Wednesday to my bloggerators!  I am so excited today to share with you a new amazing soup I tried out.  It is so quick to whip up.  I chopped the veggies and got them going in the broth, turned the pot on medium high and set off to get my gym bag ready for the next morning, stopped off in the living room for a quick chat with my hubby and by the time I returned to the kitchen, the soup was ready to be blended & served!  With all of the wonderful ingredients, I knew this soup was going to be filling.  We opted to skip the salad and enjoy the deep flavors in this thick, hearty soup.  We both ate about two cups and though we don’t really count calories, I was surprised when I ran it through the calorie calculator that it came in at less than 175 calories per cup.  So imagine how filled up you can be and have consumed so few calories.  Remember, it’s all about the nutrient density of the foods we eat.  There is a heck of a lot of nutrients going into your body here.  Beans might be high in calories, but don’t forget that those calories aren’t all absorbed because of the high fiber content and the fact that the calories just slide on through…. if you know what I mean!

IMG_1119

(click on the photo to be taken to the recipe page)

This recipe was a hit with my toughest critic… no, Alex was camping, he didn’t taste it.  But the hubby rated it above average, so that made me happy!  I wonder what I will do when the weather gets warm and soup isn’t as desirable.  The cold soups don’t sound very good, but I will give them a try.  I was reminded that my green smoothies I drink in the morning closely resemble soup.

A yummy dessert drink:

I want to share with you a little somethin’ I’ve discovered in my quest to cut back on my lattes.  I’ve been pretty successful at it, though sometimes the craving is just too much and my car just drives into the parking lot of the local Starbucks.  I’m not proud to admit that.  I know what it is… it’s the sugar in the soy milk that keeps me coming back.  Most mornings I force myself to stay at the gym a little longer or I have a smoothie to take the place.  I think it’s more of a habit than an addiction, quite frankly, but still it is there.  So what is it I’m sharing with you?  I’m sharing my new-found love for Teeccino.  Well, I discovered it back in January or so, but I like the stuff.  It’s an herbal coffee replacement.  It contains no caffeine, doesn’t have the acid that coffee does and it tastes fabulous as a warm dessert drink  or a morning wake-me-up.

So what is Teeccino (tee-chee-no) you say?  It is a blend of naturally caffeine-free herbs, grains, fruits and nuts roasted and ground to brew and taste like coffee.  My girlfriend gave me a little contraption for the Keurig so I can brew it at work easily with no mess.  At home I use the French press.  There are other coffee alternatives out there, such as Dandy Blend.  I admit I haven’t tried it and maybe that’s because I love Teeccino!  It comes in a variety of flavors.  The mocha or chocolate mint are among my favorites.  Or maybe it’s the Maya Chai.  Or the Amaretto.  Or the Vanilla Nut.  Ha Ha Ha!  I have a little twenty-dollar frother that works perfectly in a little bit of warmed up nut milk to make a little bit of a foam topper and look what you get!

IMG_1113

Now, doesn’t that just look like something you’d pay five bucks for at a coffee stand?  And those cookies… yeah, well, that’s a recipe for another day!  They were pretty good, I must say.  Too good, as a matter of fact.  The best part of all with Teeccino… NO COFFEE BREATH!  I have recently placed an order with the company so after I’ve decided on my favorite flavor I’ll let you know.  If you’d like to try a little bit for yourself, you can order direct from the company.  They have sample packs that make just one pot.  Or if you’d prefer I know the local Fred Meyer store carries it.  It’s located in the “health food” section on the bottom shelf of the organic coffee whole bean display.  Really, I think it ought to have it’s very own display, I think it’s so good!

Well, I’ve been cruising along through the Healthy Vegan Challenge and I’m doing okay.  I haven’t had refined sugar but for what is in my “lattes,” both those that I make myself and those I buy out (which has been drastically reduced).  I have, however, been consuming more than what I would like to be of “natural” sugars such as maple syrup and dates.  I will work in the future to minimize those.

I hope you have a splendid rest of your week and that you’re continuing to make healthy choices.  I hope to post on Friday my plans for Easter dinner.  And, no, ham will not be center stage!

Leave a Reply

