First Monday of Spring!

Welcome to another week!  I hope you had a good weekend and were able to find some new healthy things to fuel your body.  If you tried something new, feel free to leave a comment at the bottom of this post.

If you’re new to my blog, hello.  I think you’ll find that my style is pretty much an honest, stream of consciousness of how things are going in my life and a short rundown on my personal healthy vegan dietstyle.  I don’t call it a “diet” because this is the way I plan on eating for the rest of my life.  “Diet” implies that it is temporary.  “Dietstyle” is for life.

484146_614053311943010_1340216288_n

On Mondays I usually post what types of things came from the Glaze Family Test Kitchen.  Except today.  Everything I made this weekend, except oatmeal and salad were failures.  Oh, I guess my Sunday night dinner wasn’t a failure, but it was an old stand-by… a go-to meal, so to speak.  Portobella fajitas never let us down!  Nothing new there.  So back to the drawing board I go with an attempt at polenta pizza crust (or any pizza crust for that matter) and a salad dressing that is similar in taste and consistency to a ceasar.  The one I made from a cookbook was a true failure.  It was water thin and pretty much flavorless.  I triple checked the recipe and I followed the directions to a “T” which is a little unusual for me so I was surprised when it was a failure.  I ended up doctoring up the stuff that I did make and turned it into a dressing for a massage kale salad.  It will get me through.  I think any dressing tastes fabulous on plain kale, but some people think I’m a little weird.  I love kale!

IMG_0898

I will not be defeated by my kitchen failures.  I will persevere.  I have the power of kale!

Because I was on a mission to try a couple of things from some new cookbooks I got, I didn’t do too much in terms of food prep.  I sort of relaxed a little bit this weekend.  Spent probably way too much time on Facebook and reading about the Healthy Vegan Challenge going on over there.  I can tell you, though, one of the things that does help in my kitchen is to have vegetables already cut up.  I like to chop veggies.  I’m not sure why.  I can kind of go brain dead while I chop, slice and grate.   Plus it makes it easier for quick snacks.  My hubby enjoys a big bowl of raw vegetables most days of the week for his lunch.  And it makes sense to spend an hour or so once or twice a week rather than every day.  The chopped vegetables also take up less room in the refrigerator.

IMG_1101

Since this was my second week belonging to the vegetable co-op Bountiful Baskets, I really had to do some serious chopping.  Look at all the stuff I got this week.  Not too bad for $23.  Add that to my weekly grocery shopping and I think I was a little under budget.  Oh, it might have helped that Alex has gone camping for most of the week, so I didn’t need to meet his dietary requests!  I’d forgotten how expensive chicken and cheese are.  But that’s okay.  I am cherishing every day we spend with him as it won’t be long and he’ll be gone to Army Basic Training.  Oh, Lord, help this momma!

Bountiful Basket

FitBit update:

I told you last week about my wireless activity tracker that I’ve been using.  It’s called the FitBit ZIP.  Well, like I said it was sort of a lazy weekend for me.  Not much leg movement going on; i.e. walking, so my little fitbit zip wasn’t happy.  So Sunday after I ate a rather large dinner, I looked at how many steps I had on my little tracker and it was at about one-sixth the recommended number of steps for the entire day. <gasp!> I quickly got on my running shoes and set out.  The sun was shining, and in the Pacific Northwest when the sun shines, you take advantage of it.  Oh, was I sorry!  I took off straight away out of the driveway at a full run.  No warm up, no nothing.  I needed steps, after all!  This was my first run of the season outside.  At a brisk 51°, I failed to breathe through my nose and it was instant lung pain!  I won’t even discuss the old “wait 30 minutes after eating before you exercise” wives’ tale.  I think there may be some truth to those words.  Needless to say, I ran probably three-quarters of my route and came home feeling much better.  Not quite so sluggish.  I normally don’t do too much of a serious workout on the weekends, but I think I may reconsider that.  It may help me to not overeat so much.  I know I snack less if I feel better.  Weird how that works.  I snack when I’m sluggish which makes me more sluggish which leads to more snacking. Hmmmm… Note to Self: Must work on less snacking.

What does Wednesday bring?

Wednesday is soup day.  Check back for a new recipe.  I’ve already got one picked out.  How about a simple, creamy vegetable variety using canned tomato soup?  I’ll give it a shot & let you know.

Leave a Reply

