Fitbit review, lemon cream recipe and Giveaway Winner

It always amazes me how quickly the weeks pass.  The weekends definitely go by too quickly.  And for us, we would appreciate time slowing just a bit.  It won’t be long before we are giving Alex his sendoff as he journeys into the next chapter of his life and enters Army Basic Training.

The first day of spring was this week and for some reason the 36° mornings and sideways rain just isn’t feeling like spring.  We have a few things popping up in the yard and cherry trees are starting to show some pink.  This year, it seems, spring is having a hard time getting going.  But if we in the Pacific Northwest can just make it through a few more weeks, we will be able to have evening walks and enjoy a little bit warmer weather.  The temperature of the rain is the indicator of change of seasons up here in my neck of the woods.

Speaking of evening walks, I could use some more exercise says my new “wireless activity tracker.”  I was given a fitbit.  If you don’t know what one is, it’s basically a techi’s pedometer.

IMG_1103

The one I have is the “ZIP” model.  It appears to be the most basic, which is a good thing because I’m not very tech savvy.  What could be so technical about a pedometer you ask?  Well, this thing is like a little exercise stalker.  All you have to do is go to fitbit.com and enter in a little code that is displayed on the front of your fitbit and it begins syncing right then and there.  The computer program then asks you for your height, weight and gender.  Sha-zam!  You’re ready to roll.  Just clip the little guy onto a piece of clothing that is close to your body; i.e. waistband, bra, or inside your pocket.  There is no stride measuring necessary.  I give it an A+ for ease of use and technology.  Then… and here’s the weird part… when you’re within 20 feet of your computer, it instantly and automatically syncs.  So the next time you’re on the web, it will remind you how many steps you have taken and how many more you have to go to reach your daily goal.  This information is also available from the device itself. You can set up a profile and challenge others in a little friendly competition to walk & move more.  There’s even a page on the website to enter your food journal.  I’ve already got a myfitnesspal account set up and didn’t want to switch all of my stuff over.  But fear not!  The two websites look familiar for a reason.  They are link-able.  Yes, you can have your fitbit talk to your fitnesspal account and it will give you credit under the exercise tab!  That part is a little confusing for me, but for the purpose I’m using it (which I have yet to figure that out) I don’t think it’s relevant that it’s uber accurate.  The fitbit is also sync-able with most smartphones, but like I said, I am not tech savvy so I have a “dumb” phone.

To be considered “active,” the recommended number of steps we should be taking is about 10,000 per day.  That’s a lot, isn’t it!  The first day I wore my fitbit I was about 800 steps shy.  I also ran for 30 minutes that day, so that helped pump up my stats.  The second day I wore it, I rode a stationary bike at the gym for 30 minutes, and I don’t believe it recorded the movement of cycling.  That’s a downside of the device, but it is considered a pedometer.  I felt like I had a fairly good aerobic workout, but my “friend” is telling me otherwise.  It looks like I’ve got some walking to do.  According to some sources, I have what is considered a sedentary lifestyle because I do not move much at work.  The fitbit is giving me an idea as to how much I move (or don’t) and in time may become a motivator to do more once I get home in the evening.  To satisfy my little stalker friend, I have been known to do jumping jacks and run in place to try to get my numbers up.  For some reason, I feel accountable to a little electronic gizmo.  But, I say, whatever works to get you moving and on the path to a healthy lifestyle!

Last weekend I made a delicious blueberry oatmeal dish.  What can be so exciting about oatmeal, I know.  Well, the porridge itself was good because it had pureed blueberries and other things in it, but the best part is this lemon cream that topped it off.  I got the recipe from Dr. Fuhrman‘s daily recipe email that he sends out.  If you’re not a member of his website, I encourage you to join for many reasons, not the least of which is a daily recipe emailed to you.

IMG_1099

Lemon Cream recipe

4 pitted medjool dates or 8 deglet noor dates, soaked in hot water for 1/2 hour

1 cup raw cashews soaked overnight

1 lemon, juiced

2 organic lemons, zested

2 Tbsp poppy seeds

Drain the dates and cashews, reserving their liquid.  Place all ingredients except the poppy seeds in a high-powered blender and blend until the consistency of whipped cream, adding soaking liquid as needed.  Stir in poppy seeds.  Enjoy as a topping to oatmeal or a dip for fresh fruit such as strawberries.

VEGAN DELISH GIVEAWAY WINNER:

I’m excited to announce that my true random generator chose Mairead as the winner of the Vegan Delish recipe app!  Congratulations!  Carrie will be in touch with you to give you the code.  I hope it’s fun for you to use and you are able to expand your vegan menu!  Thank you to everybody who posted a comment.  Sorry to those who didn’t win.  I’m sure I will have another giveaway soon.

With that, I’m signing off for the weekend.  I will be back on Monday with a little somethin’ for ya!

One thought on “Fitbit review, lemon cream recipe and Giveaway Winner

  1. Pingback: First Monday of Spring! | My Midlife Mumblings

Leave a Reply

