Eat Dessert First

I’m so happy you are here.  I’m grateful to those who read my blog.  I hope that by reading, you are beginning to make healthy changes to your diet & lifestyle.  I truly believe that eating a plant-based, whole-foods diet is not a “diet” in the sense of the word that it relates to a temporary fix.  It’s a diet style.  It’s a way of life.  It’s just how I eat & that’s all there is to it.  My body responds so much better to plant foods that I don’t know why I would start eating animal proteins or dairy products again.  I’m not saying that sometimes a big plate of fish & chips doesn’t sound good or maybe even a grilled chicken breast, but I know how good I feel now and I don’t want to risk it.  Besides, is there anything worse for your body than the “chips” part of fish & chips?  I mean, come on now…

So today is Wednesday; a day that I usually have a soup recipe up for you.  I’m looking for a roasted red pepper soup that I can veganize, so as soon as I do that, I will post the recipe.  Instead, today’s post is titled “Eat Dessert First” for a reason — I don’t have a soup recipe. Ha!

I love sweets.  Sugar is my nemesis.  If you’ve been following my posts on my previous blog over on blogspot you know I gave up sugar for Lent and am participating in a challenge that fellow blogger Carrie started called the Healthy Vegan Challenge.  Giving up sugar really hasn’t been as hard as I thought it would be.  There are so many other things in our diets that are sweet that work just fine as a substitute.  Take a nice, juicy orange, for instance.  It’s full of Vitamin C, fiber, and antioxidants.  Plus, after not having sugary foods, my taste buds are much more sensitive to extreme flavor sensations, so that Cara Cara orange I had yesterday was almost too sweet!  Okay, so on to the subject at hand… DESSERT.

I don’t eat dessert with every meal, nor did I ever — well, except for a Hershey’s Kiss or some chocolate ice cream.  What I do now is have a piece of fruit or maybe even a medjool date (that’s not the best thing, though, either… but better than a chocolate bar!).  What I really love to have after dinner is something cold, smooth and creamy.  Yeah, you know what I’m talkin’ about… Ice Cream!!!  Sometimes I’ll just make a fruit smoothie (just frozen fruit & non-dairy milk) or I will make an actual “ice dream” is what I call it.  Today’s recipe is for Banana Pecan Ice Dream.  It’s the same recipe that Dr. Fuhrman has in his Eat to Live book, but instead of walnuts, I used pecans.

Click on the picture below to be taken to the recipe.

IMG_1086

I sprinkled a few cacoa nibs on top for a little extra crunch and chocolatey goodness.  The next day I drizzled a bit of strawberry balsamic vinegar over it.  Let’s just say I preferred the cacoa nibs.  Next time I’m at the vinegar store, I will be purchasing a bottle of chocolate vinegar & will give that a shot!

Well, I hope your week has been going well.  Check back here Friday for a weekly recap of what’s going on in the life a nutritarian!

One thought on “Eat Dessert First

Leave a Reply

